E-Bike Laws in Santa Cruz, California
Santa Cruz is the clearest illustration of what a California city cannot do. In March 2026 the Council approved an e-bike update with three parts: a minimum rider age for Class 1 and 2, speed limits on multi-use paths, and fines for sidewalk riding — and only the third was within the city's authority. The city is now lobbying the Legislature for power to set its own minimum age, "potentially as low as 10." Do not treat a Santa Cruz minimum age as current law. What is in force: SCMC § 10.68.030 prohibits riding a bicycle or electric bicycle on sidewalks fronting and adjacent to commercial establishments, and e-bikes may use municipal bicycle paths and bikeways unless prohibited by Council resolution.
In March 2026 the Santa Cruz Council approved an e-bike ordinance update with three components — a minimum rider age for Class 1 and Class 2, speed limits on multi- use paths, and fines for sidewalk riding. Only the third is within existing city authority. The age component is aspirational: only Marin County (Veh. Code § 21214.5) and San Diego County (§ 21214.7) have statutory authority to set e-bike age rules. Do not present a Santa Cruz minimum age as current law. Exact ages and fine amounts were not specified in coverage.
The rules, line by line
| Subject | Rule | Authority |
|---|---|---|
| Commercial sidewalks | "No person shall ride a bicycle or electric bicycle upon sidewalks fronting and adjacent to commercial establishments, stores, or buildings used for business or commercial purposes." Where sidewalk riding is permitted, riders must yield to pedestrians. E-bikes are expressly named — unlike most peer cities. | SCMC § 10.68.030 |
| Municipal bikeways | E-bikes defined per Veh. Code § 312.5; they may operate on municipal bicycle paths and bikeways unless prohibited by resolution — the Council can close specific facilities by resolution rather than ordinance. | SCMC Ch. 10.68 (§§ 10.68.010–10.68.210) |
| Gasoline-powered devices | Prohibited on municipal bikeways. | SCMC Ch. 10.68 |
| Minimum age | None in force. The Council approved one in March 2026 but the city lacks the authority to set an e-bike minimum age. It is seeking state legislation, "potentially as low as 10." | not a code provision |
| Multi-use path speed limits | Not in force — also outside the city's current authority. | not a code provision |
| Sidewalk fines | Within the city's authority and part of the March 2026 package. Amounts were not specified in coverage. | no citation locatedCitation unconfirmed |
| Enforcement | Education-first. Police began impounding illegal e-bikes in August 2025; 8 of 16 impounds involved riders under 18. From spring 2026, Branciforte and Mission Hill middle schools require a three-part e-bike safety course for a campus parking permit. | not a code provision |
The authority problem, demonstrated
Santa Cruz wanted three things and could only have one. That is the most useful case study in California local e-bike regulation, because it shows precisely where the wall is.
Minimum age for Class 1 and Class 2 — outside city authority. The Legislature has granted this
power to exactly two counties: Marin, under Veh. Code § 21214.5 from AB 1778 (under-16 on Class 2),
and San Diego County, under § 21214.7 from AB 2234 (under-12 on Class 1 and 2). A third,
San Mateo County, is pending in AB 2595. Santa Cruz is in none of them.
Speed limits on multi-use paths — contested. § 21207.5(b) lets the agency with jurisdiction
over an equestrian, hiking or recreational trail prohibit e-bikes by class, but express authority to
set numeric path speed limits is thin. This is why the pending AB 2346 matters: it would add
§ 21214.8, letting local authorities set path and trail limits at 10, 15 or 20 mph with signage,
and would grandfather limits set before January 1, 2027.
Fines for sidewalk riding — squarely within authority. § 21206 leaves sidewalk regulation
entirely to local ordinance.
So Santa Cruz is now lobbying the Legislature for age-setting power, "potentially as low as 10." Carlsbad is doing the same from the opposite direction, seeking authority to raise its minimum to 16. Both cities have concluded the pilot-by-pilot approach is not working.
Santa Cruz drafted its code correctly
One thing Santa Cruz got right that most California cities did not: SCMC § 10.68.030 expressly
names electric bicycles.
"No person shall ride a bicycle or electric bicycle upon sidewalks fronting and adjacent to commercial establishments…"
That single phrase avoids the ambiguity that leaves Los Angeles, Berkeley, Long Beach, Palm Springs,
Watsonville and the City of San Mateo unable to say clearly whether their sidewalk bans reach e-bikes
at all. The chapter also defines e-bikes by reference to Veh. Code § 312.5, so the definition
updates automatically when the state amends it.
Regulation by resolution
SCMC Ch. 10.68 permits e-bikes on municipal bicycle paths and bikeways unless prohibited by
resolution. So the Council can close a specific facility without amending the ordinance.
That is administratively efficient and a genuine problem for riders, because a resolution is far harder to find than a code section. A rider reading Chapter 10.68 in full still would not know which paths are closed. Seal Beach has the same difficulty with its restricted-locations list held in the City Clerk's office; Dana Point solved it by requiring conforming signage before any prohibition attaches.
Enforcement is education-first, with real impounds
Santa Cruz police began impounding illegal e-bikes in August 2025, and 8 of 16 impounds involved riders under 18.
Note the word "illegal." These are devices failing the § 312.5 definition — over 750 watts, or
pedal-less, or modified out of class — not compliant e-bikes ridden in the wrong place. That matches
the enforcement pattern across California: Santa Monica impounded 12 e-bikes as non-street-legal,
Sacramento County towed 4 vehicles in a targeted operation, and South Lake Tahoe and Placer County
have run crackdowns on unregistered electric motorcycles.
The school program is the more interesting intervention. From spring 2026, Branciforte and Mission Hill middle schools require a three-part e-bike safety course for a campus parking permit. That reaches exactly the cohort the data identifies — and a school can condition a parking permit on training without needing any authority from the Legislature at all.
AB 1569 (Ch. 128, Stats. 2026) may generalise this, establishing a standardized e-bike safety and training program in the Education Code — though its final scope is unverified.
The county is separate and stricter
Santa Cruz County has its own County Code Chapter 9.54, covering unincorporated areas:
e-bikes prohibited on sidewalks unless the sidewalk is a bikeway or no pedestrians are present with
no bikeway along the route; e-bikes prohibited on park trails unless the route is a designated
bikeway or the Parks Director grants an exception. Fines are $100 / $200 / $500.
Capitola, next door, has the strictest small-city rule in the region: CMC Ch. 10.44 imposes a
complete citywide sidewalk ban on all e-bikes and e-scooters with no age exception.
Common questions
Is there a minimum age for e-bikes in Santa Cruz?
No. The Council approved one in March 2026, then found the city lacks the authority to set an e-bike minimum age — that power belongs only to Marin County and San Diego County jurisdictions under specific pilot statutes. Santa Cruz is lobbying the Legislature for it, "potentially as low as 10." Do not treat a Santa Cruz minimum age as current law. The statewide Class 3 minimum of 16 does apply.
Can you ride an e-bike on the sidewalk in Santa Cruz?
Not on sidewalks fronting and adjacent to commercial establishments, stores or business buildings — SCMC § 10.68.030 prohibits it, and unusually for California it expressly names electric bicycles. Elsewhere sidewalk riding is permitted, with a duty to yield to pedestrians.
Are there speed limits on Santa Cruz multi-use paths?
Not in force. Path speed limits were part of the March 2026 Council package but sit outside the city's current authority. The pending state bill AB 2346 would add Veh. Code § 21214.8, letting local authorities set path and trail limits at 10, 15 or 20 mph with signage.
Do Santa Cruz schools require e-bike training?
Two do. From spring 2026, Branciforte and Mission Hill middle schools require a three- part e-bike safety course for a campus parking permit. A school can condition a permit on training without needing legislative authority, which makes it one of the more effective tools available locally.